Why Ribbon Rose Crochet?

I’ll be posting a craft update soon, I promise! But, I’ve had a lot of people ask me this question: “Why Ribbon Rose Crochet? Do you crochet with ribbons?” No, I don’t. But here’s why I call my brand Ribbon Rose Crochet.

I attended a technical high school and went through the Floral Design program.  My teacher, Mr. G, taught my class how to make roses from ribbon.  These roses became my go to craft for a few years.  In fact, I became almost known for making them.  I taught a small class based on these roses.

Blue & Yellow mini rose corsage
Blue & Yellow mini ribbon rose corsage

Then my desire to learn other crafts kicked in.  I started learning how to sew.  My grandmother started me off with quilting, but that didn’t last too long.  I made about three or four rag quilts and haven’t really picked up anything since.  I learned how to design costumes for myself and other people.  Unfortunately, I don’t really have great pictures of my sewing ability to post on here.

It was about five years ago that I discovered crocheting. A lady at my church (I now dub her my aunt) sat down and taught me to crochet about a year later.  The rest of that is history in the making.

So, long story short, I feel like the ribbon roses were the things that peaked my interest in crafting, so I decided to make my brand reflect that feeling, thus, “Ribbon Rose Crochet.”

One thought on “Why Ribbon Rose Crochet?

  1. I LOVE making ribbon roses! I learned how to make them for my wedding and when my friends wanted to start making them, I make a blog post about it and that’s what got me into DIY blogging. These roses are SOOO classy and they’re not cheesy like a lot of the other ribbon roses I see on Pinterest and at craft fairs.

    Like

Leave a comment